RRA Awards

RRA 2024 Nominations are closed. 

RRA Research Innovation and Leadership Award:

This award will honor an AAR member who is a visionary and made significant contributions to advance radiology research, innovation, leadership, mentorship and growth of RRA. Nominations will be sought by the RRA Awards Committee (annually) and a decision will be made and forwarded to the RRA Executive Committee for final approval. The RRA President will present the award during the AAR Annual Meeting to the recipient. Award application deadline: The 2025 application cycle will reopen in the fall.

2024 Award Recipient

Umar Mahmood, MD, PhD

Previous Award Recipients

  • 2024 Umar Mahmood, MD, PhD
  • 2023 David A. Mankoff, MD, PhD
  • 2022 No Award Given
  • 2021 No Award Given
  • 2020 Carolyn C. Meltzer, MD
  • 2019 Rathan M. Subramaniam, MD, PhD, MPH
  • 2018 King C. Li, MD, MBA
  • 2017 Jonathan S. Lewin, MD
  • 2016 Ronald L. Arenson, MD
  • 2015 Robert F. Mattrey, MD
  • 2014 Donald P. Harrington, MD
  • 2013 N. Reed Dunnick, MD


Radiology Research Alliance (RRA) New Investigator Award

Purpose: To Recognize a Promising New Investigator

A plaque will be awarded at the AAR Annual Meeting.

This award is open to AAR members within 6 years of their first academic appointment as Instructor or Assistant Professor. This individual is typically a clinician-scientist in their early to mid-career when they become independent or on their way to becoming independent investigators.

To nominate an individual, send a cover letter, signed by the Chair, Vice Chair or Division Chief, stating the reasons why the nominee is a good candidate for the award. Also, include a copy of the nominee’s CV. Award application deadline: October 26, 2024.

2024 Award Recipient

Mark A. Sellmyer, MD, PhD

Previous Winners:

  • 2024 Mark A. Sellmyer, MD, PhD
  • 2023 Gelareh Sadigh, MD
  • 2022 No Award Given
  • 2021 Terence P. Gade, MD, PhD
  • 2020 Ramon F. Barajas Jr, MD
  • 2019 Erik. H Middlebrooks, MD
  • 2018 Lars J. Grimm, MD
  • 2017 Christoph I. Lee, MD
  • 2016 Andrew B. Rosenkrantz, MD
  • 2015 Vikas Gulani, MD, PhD
  • 2014 David M. Schuster, MD
  • 2013 Gary D. Luker, MD
  • 2012 No Award Given
  • 2011 Srini Tridandapani, MD, PhD
  • 2010 Rathan Subramaniam, MD, PhD
  • 2009 Miriam A. Bredella, MD
  • 2008 No Award Given
  • 2007 Claude Sirlin, MD
  • 2006 Heike E. Daldrup-Link, MD